Pizza Grilo (4.5/5)

I’ve been meaning to check this place out for a few months now and I’m glad I found the time today. Located close to Gran Vía and just off San Bernardo, I went into Pizza Grilo (Calle Antonio Grilo, 12) around four in the afternoon and had almost the whole place to myself due to my late lunch time. It has a good number of tables and the best part of the place was the fun art on the wall. It was colorful, different, and takes normal objects and made them into unique decorations. There’s also a theme of poetry about the place, with some poems hanging on the walls. Each napkin holder has something different written on it, like “+pizza +poesía” or “+ocío + poesía,” which I found entertaining. The menu has different chapters that offers pizza, salad, and pasta (it is the poetry of pizza, after all).

I ordered a Tu Simplicidad (mozzarella, basil, tomato sauce, and oregano for 8€) and added pepperoni (+2€). One of the owners who took my order suggested some basil leaves and threw them on for free (when normally you would pay 50 cents more), gave me some tap water, and a little tapa of small, fresh breadsticks with pesto! He was very friendly and made sure I liked the pizza, which really doesn’t happen too often in Spain. After i ate the whole pizza (duh), I ordered a coffee. I thought I ordered a café con leche, and I think he brought me a cortado? In the end, the coffee was 2,50€ for a large (but it was definitely tiny) so I might have to go back again to see if I was confused or he just got it wrong. So if that was truly a large coffee, I would say that was quite expensive. But the rest of the meal was very reasonable and tasty!

Drink Satisfaction: 3.8/5 (I should have spoken up with the drink debacle but I think it was a miscommunication. They look to have a good number of Italian wines and beers. A bottle of Alhambra costs 2,50€ which is really good!)

Price: 4/5 (Coffee confusion aside, I think the prices are reasonable for the food and drink)

When I arrived, there was a table of four men finishing up their meal but I was mainly alone. The music was quite appropriate for a relaxing Sunday in a pizzeria. The art as I mentioned and the whole feel of the place was really cool. It’s arty without being stuffy and it really made me love the place. I gotta go back when there are more people (or maybe I bring my own instead of flying solo).

Atmosphere: 5/5 (go and have a beer just to check out the art!)

I didn’t need to use the facilities but the whole place had a very clean look to it. In addition to the art, the two owners that I got to chat with were very friendly and told me they have been open for about six months now. Like I said, they made sure that I enjoyed the food and even threw in some small things for free which I thought was very gracious.

Cleanliness: 5/5

Staff: 5/5

Tapa: ? (I’m not sure if my crostinis con pesto was a tapa or the owner felt generous but it shows what I had on the menu to usually cost 2€)

Average: 4.5/5 (I can’t wait to go again as I just reviewed the menu again and saw some delicious ravioli)

Good for: Flying Solo, Date Night, Friendly Bonding, Wall Gazin’ and Food Grazin’


Tenía en mente visitar este sitio hace meses y estoy contenta ya que por fin encontré un momento hoy. Está cerca de Gran Vía y a unos metros de San Bernardo, fui a Pizza Grilo (Calle Antonio Grilo, 12) a las 4 de la tarde y el sitio estaba casi vació (¡normal cuando estoy comiendo a las 4!). Tiene muchas mesas y lo mejor es el arte de las paredes; lleno de color, sencillo y diferente. Los objetos normales llegan a ser un arte divertido y único. También hay un temática de poesía, que la muestran en la carta (por capítulos) y en las paredes. Cada servilletero tiene algo diferente escrito, por ejemplo “+pizza + poesía” o “+ocio + poesía” y me pareció divertido. Los capítulos de la carta ofrecen pizza, ensalada, y pasta.

Pedí a “Tu Simplicidad”(mozzarella, albahaca, salsa de tomate, y orégano por 8€) y añadí pepperoni (+2€). Uno de los dueños me sugirió las hojas de albahaca (normalmente 0,50€ pero no me cobró), agua del grifo, y una tapa de pan con pesto (normalmente 2€). Era súper amable y se aseguró que me gustara (esto no ocurre mucho en España). Después de comer todo (por supuesto), pedí un café con leche pero creo que me trajo un cortado? Al final, el café largo me costó 2,50€ (pero era chiquitín). Entonces no sé si yo estaba confundida o me trajo un café incorrecto. Si era un café largo de verdad, es caro. Pero todo lo demás era razonable y delicioso.

Satisfacción de la Bebida: 3,8/5 (Debería decir algo por el café pero creo que fue un problema de mala comunicación). Tiene vinos italianos y cervezas. Una botella de Alhambra cuesta 2,50€, ¡que es un buen precio!)

Precio: 4/5 (Confusión del café por otro lado, creo que los precios son razonables)

Cuando llegué, estaba una mesa de cuatro chicos terminando su comida pero la mayoría del tiempo, estuve sólita. La música es apropiada para un domingo relajado en una pizzería. El arte y el ambiente en general mola mucho. Es artístico sin ser estirado y me hizo que me gustara más. Tengo que volver cuando hay más gente (o quizás lleve a mi propia gente).

Ambiente: 5/5 (¡Ir y tomar una cerveza por lo menos para echar un vistazo!)

No necesité usar los aseos pero todo el sitio me pareció súper limpio. Además del arte, los dueños son súper amables y me dijeron que han abierto hace seis meses. Como he dicho, ellos se aseguraron de que disfrutara y me sirvieron cosas gratis además de ser graciosos.

Limpieza: 5/5

Personal: 5/5

Tapa: ? (No estoy segura si mis crostinis con pesto eran tapa o el propietario era muy generoso pero en la carta dice que cuesta 2€)

Calificación: 4,5/5 (No puedo esperar a volver otra vez porque he visto que tienen en la carta unos raviolis que me parecen deliciosos)

Buen Plan para: Solit@s, Citas, Plan de Amigos, Picoteando Arte y Comida


Pizza Grilo

Calle de Antonio Grilo, 12 28015

Metro: Noviciado/Plaza de España/Santo Domingo (Línea 2, 3, & 10)

Barrio: Malasaña

Pizza Grilo website

Leave a Reply

